from Civil to Inventor

The Autodesk enthusiast exile

Civil 3D – 2010 Update 1 resolution

I have finally patched the Civil 3D 2010 up to Version 7.0.1348.0.

Well I’d like to tell everyone that I solved the bug, but I cannot.  I gutted the app and installed again.  Time is money, and you all don’t pay very well.  So I had to get my unit on the move very quickly.  A VAR Tech decided to throw his 2 cents in, and I figured I’d play along while I had him available.  It was not long before the application was rendered useless.

Checked items and review

Along the way, I ended up checking a few things that you may want to learn about.

Correct Update File

Make sure the file is c3d2010sp1.exe, and the size should be 9,853,952 bytes.

AECC Version

In Civil 3D, key in AECCVERSION.  The list of AECC modules will run through, displaying their respective versions.  The OEM will respond with 7.0.1289.0, and Upgrade 1 will come back with 7.0.1348.0.  If the latter is found, the Update will not install.

Registry

The next place queried is the registry key at HKCU\Software\Autodesk\AutoCAD\R18.0
"CurVer"="ACAD-8000:409".  If this is not the string, then the update will not install.

After this you are likely to be left behind.  Everyone throws up there hands, and says reinstall.  The previously noted tech did agree to network into my system, but by the time we might have gone through it all, I could have been halfway through a reinstall, and we still might have known absolutely nothing new.  I stand fairly firm on this since Autodesk’s official answer was “don’t know, reinstall”.

Suspicions

I highly suspect a missing or fouled registry string.   The reason is that I could not perform any functions, such as repair or uninstall.  Any attempt to do so received a dialog stating that said Civil 3D 2010 was not installed.  You could see it in the Control Panel->Programs list, but the Setup would fail after attempting an uninstall saying the application was not installed.  Just to prove it to myself, I started Civil, and ran it for a few minutes before concluding “Yep, it is installed for sure”.

Subsequently I have poked around the registry.

HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\AutoCAD Civil 3D 2010

This key contains an uninstall sequence:

C:\Install Path\AutoCAD Civil 3D 2010\Setup\Setup.exe /P {5783F2D7-8000-0409-0002-0060B0CE6BBA} /M C3D /language en-US

The product Key shown therein contains the Civil 3D 2010 Install information.  In there is the Display Version.  This is the same as the AECC Version.  No one suggested looking here, however it appears as though other features are coming here for instructions.  I suspect something around here was fouled up.

The Update contains a search criteria for it’s update.  The things we have covered are on the list.  The trick is that no one wants to give us the complete list that the process runs through, possibly because once windows hands off so many different registry keys, that no one can be sure which one might be fouled.  It would have been nice for them to have sent me the obvious list.

So I’d like you to have the Obvious list.

The Obvious List

  • AECCVERSION –> 7.0.1289.0
  • Registry Key –> HKCU\Software\Autodesk\AutoCAD\R18.0
    "CurVer"="ACAD-8000:409" and the corresponding key below it.
  • Registry Key –> HKLM\Software\Autodesk\AutoCAD\R18.0\ACAD-8000:409
    Check out Product Code and release.
  • HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\AutoCAD Civil 3D 2010
    Look at the uninstall string, and check against the product code previously noted
  • HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\[product code number]
    Look at the display version

I have multiple versions of multiple Autodesk applications installed, and we know that installing certain ones out of order can lead to registry problems.  Drawing Launcher article

We also know that Raster Design can foul up some things.  Raster Hotfix article

There really is no way of knowing for sure, but if anyone runs into a problem with the Update, follows the list I gave, and gets the 7.0.1348.0 version….Please post us where you found it.

The last tip I can offer is to convert the Update exe file into a MSP installer.  I wish I had tried this first.  It may have helped.

September 2, 2009 - Posted by | 2010, AutoCAD Civil 3D, Update | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

