from Civil to Inventor

The Autodesk enthusiast exile

Civil 3D – Google Earth v5 problems

8/14/2009

image If you have tried installing Google Earth 5 recently, you may have run into some problem.  I did, and it led me on a wild goose chase that ended at the ‘Being Civil’ blog.  The article noted scaling problems when inserting images via the Civil 3D Google Image link.

The Being Civil Blog image article

The article explains that the current download version (5.0.11733.9347) is bugged, but points to a previous version (5.0.11337.1968) and says that it should work properly.

I did a Google search for “Google Earth 5.0.11337.1968“ and got numerous results.  Be Aware!!! Most still downloaded from the Google Earth site current release.

I found the Google release url…  Google Earth 5.0 (5.0.11337.1968) from Google

After installing I confirmed the version number; I got the same results!

Time for a major version change

I found a link on Google to the previous Major revision: 4.3…Google Earth 4.3 (4.3.7284.3916) from Google (Later I found a message from Jason Hickey discussing the merits of 4.3)

I installed it, and verified the version number; uuuh same result

Test Bed C3D 09 and GE 4.3

I ambushed one of my associates, who has been using Google 4.3 with Hypack.  I had him mock up the same 2 overlapping images, and link them into Civil 09.  Exact same result.

More Research

I went shopping to find out what gives.  Discussion groups were my next stop.  I found a discussion that referred to the ‘Being Civil’ blog (again), with a different article from February.  It discussed surfacing, and after GE 4.2 the surfacing import was altered, and a reduced amount of data being exported to C3D.  They said if this is a problem, we should go back to 4.2.  Well, I’ve tried all the other versions, why not 4.2.  I know it’s not a surfacing error, but maybe they are linked.  They were kind enough to provide a link:

Google Earth 4.2 (4.2.0205) from filehippo  BTW….The same site has links to ALL the versions!

No Joy!! 

I did the same overlap test at a different region in Vegas and even worse results.

Conclusions

I wish I had some conclusions. I can’t say what the answer is.  It just does not work properly.

All things said, I have not been keeping up with the “Google Earth gotta have latest version” push.  It’s a nice tool, but I don’t use it every day.  I cannot say when things went wrong, but I don’t remember a problem in 2008.  2009 was a blur, and all I did was study for Certifications.

I might be inclined to blame my poor abused machine, but my associate received the same results from a different version of both Civil and Google. 

If you are having the same trouble, please post here so I can determine a pattern.  Then maybe we can get Justin and Jason will to do a little more research for us.

August 14, 2009 - Posted by | 2010, AutoCAD Civil 3D, Bug Report | , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. at least I know I wasn’t going crazy when I continued to have this problem. Thnx for posting your research!!

    Comment by Chad | September 30, 2009 | Reply

    • I started to wonder if it was just me. Really, SOMEBODY must know something… Brand X users aren’t complaining that their images dont stitch properly (they have a similar toolbar for Google Earth). After comments however, noone in the know has had anything to say. I figured being civil would have had something for us… If I fnd out something, I’ll post it. Thanks for the comment.

      Comment by John Evans | September 30, 2009 | Reply

  2. I have had to install GE 4.2 on several machines here at work to get the surface/image import to work. It will not work on anything after 4.2 I’ve found. Newer versions are supposed to be better right? =)

    Comment by Dale | July 2, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

