from Civil to Inventor

The Autodesk enthusiast exile

Civil 3D – Transparent Point Number Warning

Transparent commands are a nice feature with Civil 3D, and have eliminated some of my custom programming.  No sadness there, because the features are so well integrated.  I just wish I was responsible for them.

With that said, there are a few things that I’d like to see altered, like the Point Number query.  Recently I was filling in for some missing people, and I was doing some connect the dots from field notes.  I kept running into geometry that wouldn’t play together.  I checked my point style, and everything was flattened.

Here’s the catch.  When you query the point number by transparent command, you get 3D values, not the value from the Point Style.

Here are some excerpts:

A simple line command…

image

Note the elevations…

image

 

 

image

Here is the result..

image

Verify the point style 3D Geometry, and make sure it was overridden…

image

Redraw the line, using simple node snaps…

image

And here is what I expected.

image

The moral to this story is be very aware of what you are getting through the Transparent Commands.  Don’t get me wrong, I love ‘em, but I know what to expect now. 

Hey Autodesk, what about keeping the ‘PN transparent command parallel with the prevailing Point Style?

February 16, 2009 - Posted by | 2009, Points | , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. another work around is

    line
    .xy
    ‘pn

    0 = Z for zero elevation
    ESC to leave point number prompt and continue to next .xy

    Comment by caddie | February 17, 2009 | Reply

  2. i need this programme
    i am student

    Comment by medo alaa | February 19, 2009 | Reply

    • Medo Alaa
      Can you be more specific? I guess I am not sure what you mean? Civil 3D?

      Comment by John Evans | February 19, 2009 | Reply

  3. Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

    Comment by RaiulBaztepo | March 28, 2009 | Reply

    • You are welcome!

      Comment by John Evans | April 8, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

