from Civil to Inventor

The Autodesk enthusiast exile

Renumber Alignment Labels with Overlapping sequences

The following question was posted to the Civil 3D Discussion groups. 

I have a drawing with 20 road alignments and I am trying to create curve tables for them. I want the table for each road to start at 1. When I tag each curve, they keep going in numerical order…. Even if I change the numbering options to 1 before I label them….

Overlapping Tag Label Numbering

In Civil 3D 2008, the Parcel and Alignment Tag numbering was a site oriented thing. I worked it out by keeping different tables for each site, and went on my merry (and not so merry) way. Civil 3D 2009 seems to have lumped all the tags into a big pot. Overlaps can occur with labels on the same Site. I like this much better, and I have more flexible control. No more auto labeling in the 500’s, and then manually renumbering tags into the range I wanted. YES!

Overlapping tags can occur, but only if you force the issue. Here’s how:

ALIGNMENTS MENU->ADD TABLES->RENUMBER TAGS 

 

At the command line notice the [Settings] prompt. Enter ‘S’.  

 

The Table Tag Numbering will come up and show you the next Renumbering sequence start point. Set the Table Tag Number default to 1. When you select a label, a warning should come up, asking you if you want to create a duplicate.  

 

Enter ‘C’. This should renumber the tag. Unfortunately you will need to perform this for each tag.

Civil 3D Menu

October 23, 2008 - Posted by | Alignments | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

